The Lull

See this book?

Wedding Notes.

It’s a handy little book that I made the Mister pick up one rainy afternoon when we got back from Melbourne – the ‘we got engaged’ sojourn last year. The same day that Wills and Kate got married.

Other than some handwritten notes, which really are just usernames and passwords to wedding sites like The Knot and, um, another one that I can’t remember right now, it’s completely blank.

It’s not like we haven’t planned anything. We’ve booked the big kahunas, the venue and the photographer. That’s it.

We’ve also been told to hold our horses, until we get a little ‘closer to the date’, there’s nothing else we can really do in the organising stakes.

We’ve booked the big tickets, but we’re too far away from the date to get down to the nitty gritty.

Im getting twitchy.

Welcome to The Lull.

The Lull is like the scene from Oh The Places You’ll Go by Dr Seuss.

“Waiting for a train to go
or a bus to come, or a plane to go
or the mail to come, or the rain to go
or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow
or waiting around for a Yes or a No
or waiting for their hair to grow.
Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite
or waiting for wind to fly a kite
or waiting around for Friday night
or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake
or a pot to boil, or a Better Break
or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants
or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.
Everyone is just waiting.”

Im also hanging around with my seamstress like a bad smell, as it’s still too early for her to start my measurements.

The Mister won’t let me buy anything like table runners, jars, candles, plastic dinosaurs (yes) or paper lanterns as it’s ‘too early’. These things need to be arranged with the upmost of timing, as my (our) apartment is only 44sqm and our shared storage unit with his sister is full. My mum’s house is on the market, so we can’t keep anything there and my brother only really has an outdoor shed. And dogs.

So I’m trying to make the best of an infuriating holding pattern. I have done the following…

  • I have four different versions of the guest list.
  • My ‘wedding stuffs’ board on Pinterest is bulging. Consequently my ideas are strangling me.
  • I am convinced I should go back to blonde.
  • Working out at the gym like a demon. Hence why Jools won’t take my measurements yet.
  • The playlist for music is getting more and more ultra-specific.

Im bracing myself for what is going to happen.

The Sneak Up.

When it gets to that time where ‘Jesus, the date is just snuck up on us!’

It’s going to happen. And when it does. Im going to be all over it.

In the meantime, Im going to make like Dr Seuss and wait right here for a pair of pants.

:/

Tagged with: